Fontana North Welcomes Zerbin To The Family With The Fall Release Of Their New EP ‘Touch’

August 27th, 2013


MapleCore is thrilled to announce that Zerbin will be joining the Fontana North Artist Services family with ‘Touch,’ their new EP scheduled to be released in the Fall.
Formed in Edmonton in 2009, this all-Canadian band now find themselves based in Victoria.  Fronted by namesake Jason Zerbin, and his creative partner Peter Mol, the group consists of fellow like-minded west coasters who have wowed fans and industry folk with their debut LP “Of Fools And Gold.”  Since then, Zerbin has toured across North America, shared stages with the likes of The Flaming Lips, FUN., and AWOLNATION – and cemented their status as a band to watch .


New Releases – Tuesday, August 27, 2013

August 27th, 2013

Paul Oakenfold continues the annual “We Are Planet Perfecto” series with “Volume 3: Vegas to Ibiza” dedicating one disc each to both legendary clubbing destinations. Featuring mixes of Underworld, Sander van Doorn, Mark Knight, Eddie Halliwell, Simon Patterson, Thomas Datt, Mike Hawkins, Moe Aly, Disfunktion, Blazer, Angry Man and of course Paul Oakenfold.
Best known from 90s hip hop group House of Pain, Everlast’s latest effort “The Life Acoustic” is an acoustic retelling of his back catalogue. The 12 tracks, including iconic House of Pain track “Jump Around” have been recorded with only a steel-string acoustic and a handful of other acoustic instruments.
German metal band End of Green return with their eighth release “The Painstream” incorporating influences from goth, alternative, post-rock, and pop into 14 loud tracks. Catch the band in their home country October through November and grab “The Painstream on the limited grey-blue 2LP vinyl.

Paul Oakenfold “We Are Planet Perfecto Vol. 3″
Everlast “The Life Acoustic”
End of Green “The Painstream”

Paul Oakenfold planet perfectoEverlast_The_Life_Acoustic_Album_DownloadEnd-of-Green-300x300

Here are the remaining releases from Fontana North this week:
Young Galaxy “Crying My Heart Out” Single
Mapei “Cocoa Butter Diaries” EP
Saltatio Mortis “Das schwarze Einmaleins”
Michelle Williams “Heart To Yours”
Michelle Williams “Do You Know”
Vado “Most Hated”
Krizz Kaliko “Son of Sam
Wolfpakk “Cry Wolf”

Distort Inc. Joins Forces With Fontana North

August 22nd, 2013


MapleCore is thrilled to announce that Distort Inc. will be entering into a unique relationship with Fontana North Artist Services.  It’s a one-of-a-kind joint venture deal with FN acting as main distributor.  The pairing opens up new avenues in Canada for hardcore/punk/metal artists looking to further their presence in national outlets.  MapleCore’s CEO Grant Dexter is looking forward to the opportunities this partnership will bring, saying “we’ve always supported and fostered exceptional talent, and this will further our commitment to Canadian music – especially in the hardcore scene.”


New Releases – Tuesday, August 20, 2013

August 20th, 2013

Jimmy Buffet is seriously on his 27th studio album with “Songs From St. Somewhere”! 15 new tracks including “Too Drunk To Karaoke” featuring Toby Keith and the bonus track “I Want To Go Back To Cartagena” a Spanish version duet with the Latin singer Fannie Lu. Paper Bag Records newest family member DIANA release their debut record “Perpetual Surrender”. U of T classmates Kieran, Joseph and Paul found the missing piece of the puzzle in vocalist Carmen Elle’s voice, hear it in the title tack. The third release from Toronto’s Grand Analog “Modern Thunder” features guest appearances from Saukrates and Shad to Amanda Balsys of the Wilderness of Manitoba and Maylee Todd. In “The Great Rhyme Dropper” alone Shad is featured and Maestro Fresh Wes makes a cameo. The JJ DOOM classic “Key To The Kuffs” has been re-issued on special format “Butter Edition”.

Jimmy Buffet “Songs From St. Somewhere”
DIANA “Perpetual Surrender”
Grand Analog “Modern Thunder”


Here are the remaining releases from Fontana North this week:
JJ DOOM “Key To The Kuffs – Butter Edition”
Fleshgod Apocalypse “Labyrinth”
Ricky Skaggs and Bruce Hornsby “Cluck Ol’ Hen”
Various Artists “Ultimate Gospel Volume 7: Contemporary Ladies of Gospel”
Various Artists “Om Yoga Volume 2: Modern Music for Vinyasa/Flow”

The Beaches Premiere “Wanna Know Your Name” & “Abslutely Nothing” on HungerTV

August 13th, 2013


Toronto rock quartet The Beaches blew up the French Connection ‘From Sketch to Store’ campaign and now they have borrowed the concept for “Wanna Know Your Name”. The video sees the all-girl band playing illustrated instruments, and they sound pretty good for cardboard, I must say.
Last week the band released their kinda-sorta parody of Robin Thicke’s “Blurred Lines” video. While the concept is played on, the song is thankfully The Beaches’ hooky anthem “Absolutely Nothing” instead.

Watch both videos exclusively on HungerTV

The Beaches on Facebook
The Beaches on Twitter

New Releases – Tuesday, August 13, 2013

August 13th, 2013

Out now via MapleMusic Recordings, Royal Teeth’s debut studio album “Glow” came on strong with the first single “Wild”. The indie rock band entered the studio with Gavin Brown and set out to capture the live energy that brought so many fans out to see them. ’68 psych classic “Dino Valente”, the self-titled debut from Dino Valente of Quicksilver Messenger Service has been re-issued for the first time on vinyl – but not plain old vinyl, this release is glorious MONO. St. Louis based Stevie Stone took inspiration from his touring and home lives on “2 Birds 1 Stone” featuring Strange Music label-mates including Rittz, Kutt Calhoun, Brotha Lynch Hung, Ces Cru and Prozak, in addition to Tech N9ne.

Royal Teeth “Glow”
Dino Valente “Dino Valente” LP
Stevie Stone “2 Birds 1 Stone”

Glow - Royal TeethDino+Valenti+-+Dino+Valente+-+CD+ALBUM-440649vfwg0h

New Releases – Tuesday, August 6, 2013

August 6th, 2013

If you went to Osheaga or Lollapalooza this weekend I bet you had a good time, I know I did! London’s latest metal craze The Defiled follow up their acclaimed 2011 debut with “Daggers”, the first video single “Unspoken” went online in June. Catch the band on tour in the US in August and the UK in September. Austra’s latest “Olympia” spawned the hit track “Home” now available on 12″ vinyl with remixes by Kevin Saunderson and Ital. Limited to 100 copies and only available in Canada, this is a true collector’s item. Wintersun release “Time I” in October 2012 and it is now available as a deluxe edition with bonus DVD featuring live rehearsals, licks & tricks, photo gallery, and Sons of Winter and Stars Project demonstration. Wintersun is touring North America now through September including a stop at Heavy MTL.

The Defiled “Daggers”
Austra “Home” 12″
Wintersun “Time I” Deluxe Edition


Here are the remaining releases from Fontana North this week:
Long Lost “Save Yourself, Start Again”
Powerwolf “Preachers of the Night”
Fueled By Fire “Trapped in Perdition”
Deadlock “The Arsonist”