New Releases – Tuesday, November 26, 2013

November 26th, 2013

“Seven’s Travels” hasn’t been available on vinyl for seven years, until now with Rhymesayers re-issuing Atmosphere‘s 4th album on its 10th Anniversary. The special edition features the original album on two 180g white vinyl discs plus a third 12″ containing hidden track “Say Shh”, 3 bonus songs from the original vinyl pressing, 2 b-sides and 3 additional tracks recorded in 2003. A Day To Remember make their Fontana North debut with their fifth album “Common Courtesy”. Available as a CD/DVD featuring the record’s 16 tracks and nearly 40 minutes of behind-the-scenes footage. The band is tying up their North American tour dates this year before heading out with Every Time I Die for a UK/EU tour in early 2014. UK experimental electronic producer patten makes his Warp Records debut with “EOLIAN INSTATE”. The EP, with a 22 minute run time will be available on picture disc vinyl and limited to 500 units worldwide. Watch the wild video for the first single “Aviary” here.

Atmosphere “Seven’s Travels” 10th Anniversary Edition 2LP + Bonus 12″
A Day To Remember “Common Courtesy”

atmosphere_sevens_travelsADTR-CCpatten EOLIAN INSTATE (more…)

patten To Release Debut Warp EP “EOLIAN INSTATE” Out Next Week

November 19th, 2013


EP To Be Released On 12″ Picture Disc via Warp and Fontana North
Limited To 500 Copies Worldwide

2011′s fractured and tripped out full length ‘GLAQJO XACCSSO‘ was highly praised across experimental avant circles from The Wire to DAZED, identifying patten as a unique voice emanating from an intersection between a number of London’s underground scenes.


New Releases – Tuesday, November 19, 2013

November 19th, 2013

Husband and wife duo Neil Gaiman and Amanda Palmer turned their Fall 2011 West coast tour into the 3-disc album “An Evening With Neil Gaiman and Amanda Palmer”. Previously only available to backers of the Kickstarter campaign, fan-favourites such as “The Man Who Forgot Ray Bradbury”, “Dear Old House”, and “Judy Blume” are now available for all to enjoy. On the 45th anniversary of “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” release the Art of Time Ensemble recorded the second of three performances at the Enwave Theatre in Toronto. “Sgt. Pepper” is the live recording of that concert featuring four of Canada’s top singers – Steven Page, John Mann, Andy Maize and Craig Northey – accompanied by twelve stellar pop, jazz and classical musicians. In the 2 years since Polar Bear Club released their last album, the band have toured relentlessly while crafting the songs of “Death Chorus”. The Rochester, NY group head out in support of the record leading their own headline North American tour (remember what we said about touring relentlessly?).

Amanda Palmer “An Evening With Neil Gaiman and Amanda Palmer”
Art Of Time Ensemble “Sgt. Pepper”
Polar Bear Club “Death Chorus”

PalmerGaimanart of time Sgt. Pepper cover12_gate11298 (more…)

Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings Announce Full North American Tour in 2014

November 12th, 2013


‘Give The People What They Want’ To Be Released January 14, 2014, Pre-Order The Album Via Itunes HERE

Catch Them Performing In The 87th Annual Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade

Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings are set to return to the road for a full North American tour this Spring. This is the band’s first full tour in over two years. Special fan pre-sale begins November 12th on the band’s website while standard ticketing begins Friday November 15th.

In the meantime, fans can cheer for Sharon and the Dap-Kings as they perform on a float in the 87th annual Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, which will be televised on NBC.  In looking forward to performing on Thanksgiving, Sharon Jones recollected, “Getting to take part in this parade is so thrilling; I’ve been watching it on television since I was a young girl.” She added, “I have traveled a hard road this year and being thankful is something I relate to deeply,” says Jones. (more…)

New Releases – Tuesday, November 12, 2013

November 12th, 2013

Cowboy Junkies follow their acclaimed four album set, “The Nomad Series”, with the release of an equally ambitious project, post-modern musical “The Kennedy Suite”. Lyricist Scott Garbe tells the story of the JFK assassination through a series of characters, with arrangements by Cowboy Junkies and featuring Sarah Harmer, Hawksley Workman, Jason Collett and more as musical guests. Tickets for the Toronto release concert featuring many of the album’s collaborators are available here. On the heels of last year’s “Shields”, Grizzly Bear are releasing companions “Shields: Expanded” & “Shields: B-Sides”. “Expanded” the 2CD set contains the original Shields album plus 8 additional b-sides, remixes (including Nicolas Jaar’s Record Store Day remix of ‘Sleeping Ute’), and demos. The additional tracks are also available as “B-Sides” on 180g 12″ vinyl featuring art from painter Richard Diebenkorn hand-picked by the band. 10 years after The Jealous Sound first released their debut album “Kill Them With Kindness”, Rise Records is re-issuing it for the first time on vinyl. The 2LP set includes a re-mastered version of “Kill Them With Kindness” as well as re-mastered versions of their self-titled EP, 3 unheard demos and a CD copy to top it off.

Cowboy Junkies “Cowboy Junkies Present The Kennedy Suite”
Grizzly Bear “Shields: Expanded” & “Shields: B-sides”
The Jealous Sound “Kill Them With Kindness” Deluxe Edition

TheKennedySuite_Cover_WEBShields-B-sides-CD12_gate11298 (more…)

New Releases – Tuesday, November 5, 2013

November 5th, 2013

Canada’s premiere country rock band The Cooper Brothers return with “Southbound”. The record was made at a leisurely pace over the course of a year at The Tragically Hip’s studio in Bath, Ontario and produced by Blue Rodeo’s Colin Cripps. Richard Cooper penned the 11 tracks and is joined by the live band line-up on every track as well as featured performances from Gary Craig, Peter Fredette, and guitar whiz Carey Blackwell. Sights & Sounds follow up their debut “Monolith” with the fantastic new EP “Silver Door” out on Distort. Grab a copy of the EP in this limited bundle with a white vinyl 10″, CD copy, and sweet t-shirt. The band is on tour now in the UK and Europe with Bring Me The Horizon and Pierce the Veil. Experimental rock outfit The Melvins mark their 19th album release with “Tres Cabrones” out on Ipecac Recordings. The band brings original drummer Mike Dillard back into the fold with current drummer Dale Crover switching to bass. 9 of the songs have previously appeared on various vinyl releases throughout their career dating back as early at 1983.

The Cooper Brothers “Southbound”
Sights & Sounds “Silver Door”
The Melvins “Tres Cabrones”

cooper brothers southboundSights&Sounds_SilverDoormelvins-tres-cabrones (more…)