New Releases – Tuesday, December 16th, 2014

December 16th, 2014

The Kinks ‘The Anthology 1964 – 1971 (5CD Box Set)’ CD
The Melvins ‘Hold It In’ Vinyl
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds ‘Your Funeral…My Trial LP’ Vinyl


Here are the remaining releases this week from Fontana North:
Neil Hamburger ‘Great Phone Calls’ Vinyl
Necro ‘Sadist Hitz’ Digital CD
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds ‘From Her To Eternity LP’ Vinyl
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds ‘The Firstborn Is Dead LP’ Vinyl
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds ‘Kicking Against The Pricks LP’ Vinyl
SomeKindaWonderful ‘Reverse Remix EP (Spotify Exclusive)’ Digital
Penguin Prison ‘Calling Out Remix EP’ Digital

New Releases – Tuesday, December 9th, 2014

December 9th, 2014

PRhyme – the collaborative duo of celebrated producer DJ Premier and standout emcee Royce Da 5’9” – have released their first official full-length album. The self-titled record features verses from Common, Killer MikeScHoolboy QMac Miller and more who spit with two of Hip‐Hop’s most respected artists. Watch the video for the title track premiered via Complex Mag. The infamous ‘Spunk’ bootleg from legendary UK punk outfit Sex Pistols has now been reissued. Taken from the original bootleg the releases feature 12 tracks pressed to white vinyl and 15 on CD copies including the 1976 Denmark Street Demos of “Anarchy In The UK” and “Pretty Vacant.” On their sophomore effort ‘Daggers’ Ex Cops bring the hook-heavy blast of ‘90s alt-rock into a new era. The duo of Amalie Bruun and Brian Harding paired themselves with producers Billy Corgan and Justin Raisen in addition to co-writing with Ariel Pink to return guitar-pop to the grand stage that it deserves. Watch the official video for the first single ‘Black Soap’ or listen to the Ariel Pink-featuring ‘Tragically Alright.’

PRhyme ‘PRhyme’ Digital CD Vinyl
Sex Pistols ‘Spunk’ CD Vinyl
Ex Cops ‘Daggers’ Digital CD Vinyl

prhymesex pistols spunkExCops_Daggers_3000_RGB

Here are the remaining releases this week from Fontana North:
tetema ‘Geocidal’ Digital CD
Spiritualized ‘Songs In A&E’ White Vinyl
Spiritualized ‘Amazing Grace’ Vinyl
Elmore James ‘The Final Sessions’ CD
Various Artists ‘The Women Of Blues’ CD
Various Artists ‘When I Reach That Heavenly Shore: Unearthly & Raw Black Gospel, 1926-1936′ 3CD Vinyl
Dream Ritual ‘Dream Ritual’ Digital Vinyl
Sleaford Mods ‘Chubbed Up’ Vinyl
Dragonland ‘Battle Of The Ivory Plains (Deluxe Edition)’ Digital CD
Dragonland ‘Holy War (Deluxe Edition)’ CD
Mors Principium Est ‘Dawn Of The 5th Era’ Digital CD

Win a Warp25 Prize Pack

December 3rd, 2014


On the occasion of Warp’s silver anniversary, we’re taking the opportunity to draw on twenty five years of groundbreaking art and music, uniting emerging mavericks and boundary-stretching masters in a celebration of what the next quarter-century holds for the label.

To celebrate this landmark occasion for the UK-bred pioneers, Fontana North is giving away a genre-spanning prize pack highlighting some of the best the label has to offer. One lucky winner will receive five posters, stickers, “You’re Dead!” rolling papers, an Aphex Twin t-shirt (size M) and four CDs. Included are two recent releases - Flying Lotus “You’re Dead!” and Rustie “Green Language” - and two releases featuring deep cuts - Grizzly Bear “Shields: Expanded” and “Warp20 (Unheard)” a collection of unreleased tracks from Boards Of Canada, Plaid, Nightmares On Wax, Autechre and more!

To enter simply follow Fontana North on Facebook or Twitter, tag us with @fontananorth #Warp25 and tell us your favourite Warp Records release from the past 25 years. The contest will run until noon on December 19th at which point one winner will be selected at random.

Beginning December 1st, selected Warp titles will also be on sale at participating independent record stores. Look for your favourite album discounted on CD or vinyl at your local record store. A list of every music retailer in Canada can be found at

Warp prize pack

New Releases – Tuesday, December 2nd, 2014

December 2nd, 2014

‘In The Seams’ is the stunning second album from Saint Saviour ‐ the solo project of Becky Jones collaborating on this album with Bill Ryder‐Jones (The Coral). The Grammy-nominated artist wrote the deeply personal album about her memories, her childhood  in 12 songs full of lush strings, softly plucked guitars and tender vocals. Watch the video for ‘Let It Go’ on YouTube hereBloodbound’s sixth album ‘Stormborn’ is a celebration of Power Metal at its finest. This Swedish six piece have crafted eleven songs that contain everything and more you expect: sing along choruses, head banging power chords and face melting guitar riffs. Watch the album preview for ‘Stormborn’ via the AFM Records channel.  Female-fronted Norwegian metal band Triosphere return after 4 years with their third record ‘The Heart of the Matter.’ The band delivers a slice of high‐class melodic metal music, cleverly mixing power metal, progressive metal and a few contemporary rock elements to forge their very own sound. Watch the official lyric video for ‘The Heart’s Dominion.’

Saint Saviour ‘In The Seams’ Digital CD Vinyl
Bloodbound ‘Stormborn’ Digital CD
Triosphere ‘The Heart Of The Matter’ Digital CD

saint saviour in the seemsBloodbound_StormbornCoverart for Triosphere

Here are the remaining releases this week from Fontana North:
LAYNE ‘Warrior’ Digital