New Releases – Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Female punk pioneer Joan Jett & the Blackhearts return with their 14th studio album “Unvarnished” which Jett has said is her most autobiographical to date. Dave Grohl and Jane Grace of Against Me also made contributions to the album. Lead single “Any Weather” made its TV debut on Jimmy Kimmel Live! Metal supergroup Soulfly come together to release their latest record “Savages” on Nuclear Blast. The Max Cavalera-led band features longtime lead guitarist Marc Rizzo, bassist Tony Campos and Max’s 20 year-old son Zyon. Brookyln experimental producer Danial Lopatin makes his Warp Records debut as Oneohtrix Point Never with “R Plus Seven”. Lopatin flexes his artistic muscle in the Takeshi Murata created video for single “Problem Areas”. Lopatin recently wrote the score for Sofia Coppola’s “The Bling Ring” along with Brian Reitzell. Northern Irish rockers The Answer have also re-issued physical copies of their discography on Napalm Records.

Joan Jett & The Blackhearts “Unvarnished”
Soulfly “Savages”
Oneohtrix Point Never “R Plus Seven”

Joan-Jett-album-cover-Unvarnished-1024x1024soulfly-savagesr plus seven

Here are the remaining releases this week from Fontana North:
Datsik “Let It Burn”
The Poets of Rhythm “The Anthology 1992-2003″
7 Seconds “My Aim Is You”
The Answer “New Horizon”
The Answer “Revival” 2011 Re-issue
The Answer “Rise” 2006 Re-issue
The Answer “Everyday Demons” 2009 Re-issue
The Nick Hexum Quintet “My Shadow Pages”