Bidiniband Releases Third LP ‘The Motherland’ May 27


 Album launch party at Toronto’s Dakota Tavern Thurs. May 29, 7-9 PM

Dave Bidini, singer/songwriter, author, columnist, and all-around national treasure, has been making music for over 30 years. Having established his reputation as a founding member of the Rheostatics, with BidiniBand — where he is joined by drummer Don Kerr, guitarist Paul Linklater and bassist Doug Friesen — Bidini has continued to develop his inventive, challenging, literate, and distinctly Canadian voice.

The Motherland, the third BidiniBand album, is another milestone in Bidini’s extensive catalogue of artistic achievements. It’s a bold, 10-song collection that musically runs the gamut from prog to country rock, while lyrically taking pointed jabs at the current state of the nation under the Harper regime.

The Motherland was laid to tape during an intense six-day stretch at Toronto’s Revolution Recording with co-producer Joe DunphyMichael-Philip Wojewoda mixed the album with the usual flair he’s added to the lengthy list of projects he and Bidini have collaborated on.

Call The Motherland Bidini’s White Album or Quadrophenia, or call it simply a record that distills nearly a lifetime of playing every corner of the nation into a message of hope for all who still believe in rock and roll. This is the album that Canada needs right now.

The Motherland Track List:
1. The Grey Wave
2. The Motherland
3. The Fatherland
4. All Hail Canada
5. (The Return Of) Fat
6. Hey Jesus!
7. Ladies Of Montreal
8. Everyday Superstar
9. The Motherland Part 2
10. Say The Names

Upcoming Shows:
Wed. May 29 — Toronto ON — The Dakota Tavern 7-9 PM (The Motherland launch party)
Sat. June 21 — Toronto ON — Horseshoe Tavern 10:30 PM (NXNE / Pheromone Recordings showcase)
July 4-6 — Toronto ON — TURF @ Garrison Commons (set time TBA)
Sat. July 26 — Edmonton AB — Interstellar Rodeo @ Heritage Amphitheatre 12:30 PM