Sumo Cyco Release Debut LP ‘Lost In Cyco City’ June 10

 Sumo Cyco - Preess Photo

“Long before the first guitar riff, front woman Sever’s honey dripping sex appeal pulls you in. Sumo Cyco’s infectious rage rock lit up the Bovine Sex Club as Sever channeled every fiber of early Gwen Stefani with her mind bending vocals making every number a theatrical narration.” - John Perfetto,

Sumo Cyco is a four-piece female fronted hard rock band from Toronto. Their sound blends heavy metal guitars with in your face blast beats, dance hall rhythms, all topped off with molten lava female vocals. The band’s full-length debut album ‘Lost in Cyco City’ is produced by Matt Drake (Dodger, illScarlett).

Some may be surprised to learn that front woman Sever is the alter ego of Skye Sweetnam, the former teen-pop sensation, who signed to Capitol Records and EMI (Sony/ATV) Publishing at the age of fourteen. Skye performed in over 25 countries and opened up for Britney Spears for 50 dates on the Onyx Hotel Tour, all before her 17th birthday.

Stream ‘Lost in Cyco City’ here and pre-order the album on iTunes here.

Skye co-wrote with hit makers such as Dr. Luke, Max Martin, The Matrix and Tim Armstrong (Rancid). Tim’s hit ‘Into Action’ features Sweetnam on backing vocals. After two full-length albums, Sweetnam decided to take her career in an extreme direction, craving artistic control and rock n’ roll, she initiated her departure from the major label.

Since forming in 2011, Sumo Cyco has taken a novel approach to releasing music. They have recorded and released 9 singles digitally to date, alongside grindhouse-esque B-movie videos. The band takes pride in creating a strong online presence, creating their own content, and promoting and marketing it themselves.

Sumo Cyco won Indie Week Canada in 2013 and was awarded ‘Best-Female Fronted’ band at the 2012 Toronto Independent Music Awards. The band has shared stages with Finger Eleven, Hollywood Undead, Hollerado, and illScarlett, to name a few. In the studio, Sumo Cyco has worked with the likes of Jag Tanna (I Mother Earth), Julius ‘Juice’ Butty (Alexisonfire) and Matt DeMatteo (Big Wreck). The band is currently working on new material with Brian Moncarz (Circa Survive, Moneen).

Sumo Cyco recently returned from their month-long ‘Lost in Ireland and The UK Tour’ where they played 13 shows to packed crowds. Check out their appearance on Irish TV below.

It was a suitable warm-up for taking on their home turf in full force, beginning with the dates below. Don’t miss Sumo Cyco‘s combined sonic and visual onslaught!

Sumo Cyco Tour Dates:
June 6 — Ottawa — Café Dekcuf
June 19 — Toronto — NXNE @ Bovine Sex Club [1 AM]
July 4 — Toronto — The Hideout
August-September — LOST In North America [Tour dates TBA]

‘Lost In Cyco City’ Track List:
1. The Ugly
2. Go Go Go
3. Fighter
4. Cry Murder
5. Like A Killer
6. Fuel My Fire
7. We Ride
8. Brave
9. Get Off
10.  Crowd Control (Do What We Want)
11.  My Name is Rock n’ Roll

Official Site: