Nneka’s ‘My Fairy Tales’ To Be Released May 26

Nneka‘s forthcoming studio album ‘My Fairy Tales‘ will be released on May 26 through Kartel Music and Fontana North.  The new LP is Nneka’s fourth full-length release following 2011′s critically acclaimed ‘Soul Is Heavy.’

‘My Fairy Tales’ was recorded and produced in France, Denmark and Nigeria while Nneka was living in Paris. It was produced by Mounir Maarouf, the Danish Silver Bullit team and The Slag. With this album, Nneka sought to tackle subjects related to the politics of her birthplace and her own personal voyage of discovery. “‘My Fairy Tales‘ is a concept album, exploring the lives of Africans in the diaspora and the struggles they face,” says Nneka. “How we cope hustling in ‘another man’s land,’ but also the aspects of endurance, perseverance and gratitude.” Hailing from the Delta region of Nigeria, Nneka Lucia Egbuna moved to Germany when she was 19, where she honed her craft as a singer-songwriter. She released her first album, ‘Victim of Truth‘,in 2005. Her single ‘Heartbeat,’ from her second release ‘No Longer At Ease‘ (2008), scored a U.K. Top 20 hit on the UK sales charts in 2009.

Nneka has performed on the “Late Show with David Letterman” and has shared stages with The Roots, Gnarls Barkley, Nas and Damian Marley. She won a MOBO (Music of Black Origin) for Best African Act in 2009 and recorded the tribute song ‘Viva Africa‘ for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. The following year she released ‘Soul Is Heavy’ and appeared on BET’s 106 & Park. In 2012, Nneka co-founded the charity The Rope Foundation, which serves as a platform for young adults to express themselves through art. Nneka also serves as the Arts Ambassador for the African Women Development Fund (AWDF) in Ghana.

1. Believe System
2. Babylon
3. My Love
4. My Love Reprise
5. Local Champion
6. Surprise
7. Pray For You
8. Book Of Job
9. In Me